Home Page Home Page


About Netherlands

Netherlands is the main constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.The four largest and most important cities in the Netherlands are Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam and Utrecht. It is a small, densely populated country, lying mainly in Western Europe.

The Netherlands' name literally means "Low Country", inspired by its low and flat geography, with only about 50% of its land exceeding one metre above sea level. The Netherlands is a very densely populated country for its size.  the Netherlands is the world's second largest exporter of food and agriculture products, after the United States. The Netherlands was one of the first countries in the world to have an elected parliament.

De Groote Peel National Park

De Groote Peel National Park is a region in the Southeast of the Netherlands. It has a size of 13,4 km² and preserves a peat bog that has remained partly untouched by peat cutting, which used to be extensive in the area.

It is one of the most bird-rich areas in Western Europe, with resident black-necked grebes and sometimes migrating common cranes in October/November. The terrain is varied with inaccessible peat swamps, lakes, heath land and sand ridges. The present swamp and some of the lakes were created by the cutting of peat.National Park De Groote Peel is one of the last, largely raised bogs that remains uncultivated. It has become the way it is because of the harvesting of peat from the bog in the past.


Koningsdag is a national holiday in the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The holiday was first observed on 31 August 1885 as Prinsessedag or Princess's Day, the fifth birthday of Princess Wilhelmina, heir to the Dutch throne. On her accession, the holiday acquired the name Koninginnedag.

Koningsdag is known for its nationwide vrijmarkt ("free market"), at which many Dutch people sell their secondhand items. It is also an opportunity for "orange madness" or oranjegekte, for the national colour, when the normally strait-laced Dutch let down their hair, often dyed orange for the occasion.Koningsdag is the one day of the year that the Dutch government permits sales on the street without a permit and without the payment of value added tax.

Peace Palace

Peace Palace is an administrative building in The Hague, the Netherlands. Palace officially opened on 28 August 1913, and was originally built to provide a symbolic home for the Permanent Court of Arbitration, a court created to end war which was created by treaty at the 1899 Hague Peace Conference.

The idea of the Palace started from a discussion in 1900 between the Russian diplomat Friedrich Martens and the US diplomat Andrew White, over providing a home for the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA), which was established through the first Hague Peace Conference in 1899.

Dom Tower of Utrecht

Dom Tower of Utrecht  is the tallest church tower in the Netherlands. The tower was part of the Cathedral of Saint Martin, Utrecht, also known as Dom Church, and was built between 1321 and 1382. The tower stands at the spot where the city of Utrecht originated almost 2,000 years ago.

The Dom Tower has an exceptional peal of fourteen ringing bells, weighing 32,000 kg. In 1505 Geert van Wou, in his time the most famous bell-founder of the Netherlands, made a harmonious peal of thirteen bells. The tower has its own visitor centre, RonDom (a Portmanteau of 'Rond' -around- and 'Dom'), which is located in the square. As well as stocking a range of souvenirs.

Regions of Netherlands

Drenthe Flevoland Friesland Gelderland
Groningen  Limburg Noord-Brabant Noord-Holland
Other Overijssel Utrecht Zeeland


Regions within netherlands:

C - D - F - G - L - N - O - U - Z

(1 listing)
(3 listings)
(1 listing)
Today's Rates: 1 € = 1.13835 $ 1 € = 0.73055 £
Home  |  About Us  |  Property News  |  Useful Links  |  Data Feeds  |  Property Listings  |  Site Map  |  Help  |  Privacy  |  Terms & Conditions
Copyright © 2005 - 2015 PropertyWorld.com Designed and developed by MSO.net